WTA participated in #TheRealHeroes Project

Ashleigh Barty, Bianca Andreescu, Naomi Osaka, Coco Gauff, and Victoria Azarenka are among the WTA stars dedicating their uniforms to healthcare heroes as 14 professional sports leagues unite to pay tribute to frontline medical workers with the initiative #TheRealHeroes initiative.

WTA participated in #TheRealHeroes Project

ST. PETERSBURG, FL, USA - The WTA (Women's Tennis Association along with 13 other professional sports leagues today announced "The Real Heroes Project", a collaborative initiative to recognize and pay tribute to healthcare workers at the forefront of the pandemic COVID-19. Athletes representing the WTA, ATP, MLB, MLS, NASCAR, NBA, NFL, NHL, NWSL, USGA, WNBA and WWE, among other professional and sports leagues, including Activision Blizzard Esports and Electronic Arts, They are dedicating their shirts and uniforms to a special health care hero who is helping his community at the forefront of this global crisis.

Since the COVID-19 outbreak, the world of sports has supported its local and national communities in their own respective efforts, for example, the WTA 4 Love humanitarian campaign aimed at supporting those affected by the coronavirus. Through "The Real Heroes Project", the sports community will unite to pay tribute to heroic people throughout the health system.

The WTA and the world of sports invite fans from around the world to join these world-class athletes on social media and dedicate their personal jerseys and sportswear to a front-line individual using the hashtag #TheRealHeroes.


Featured leagues and athletes include:

Women's Tennis Association (WTA): American teen sensation who won her first three WTA titles and entered the Top 50 at just 15 years old, Coco Gauff; the 2018 US open champion followed by the 2019 Australian Open champion, Naomi Osaka; the best-ranked Canadian in WTA history and US Open 2019 champion Bianca Andreescu; World No. 1 and 2019 Roland Garros champion Ashleigh Barty; and former WTA No.1 with 20 titles to her name, Victoria Azarenka


Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP): professional doubles players and the most successful duo of all time, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan.


Activision Blizzard Esports - Esports Athletes Seth "Scump" Abner from Call of Duty League, Li "Liooon" Xiaomeng from Hearthstone Esports and Matthew "Super" DeLisi from Overwatch League.


Electronic Arts (EA): Reigning FIFA eWorld Cup Champion Mohammed "MoAuba" Harkous, 2018 FIFA eWorld Cup Champion Mosaad "Msdossary" Aldossary, Madden NFL Champion 19 Bowl Drini "Drini" Gjoka, the champion from the Madden NFL 18 Bowl Seamus "Young Kiv" Kivlen and professional Apex Legends competitors Eric "Snip3down" Wrona and Bowen "Monsoon" Fuller (#StayandPlay).


Major League Baseball (MLB) - New York Yankees All-Star fielder Aaron Judge and Milwaukee Brewers All-Star fielder Christian Yelich.


Major League Soccer (MLS) - Los Angeles Galaxy forward Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez, Toronto FC and United States men's national team forward Jozy Altidore and Orlando City SC forward Nani (#MLSUnites).


NASCAR - Kyle Busch, two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion and Joe Gibbs Racing driver, and 2014 NASCAR Cup Series champion and Kevin Harvick of Stewart-Haas Racing.


National Basketball Association (NBA) - - Donovan Mitchell, point guard of the NBA 2020 All-Star and Utah Jazz (#NBATogether).


National Football League (NFL) - New Orleans Saints All-Pro passer Drew Brees, Arizona Cardinals All-Pro wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins and San Francisco 49ers 49ers tight end George KittleNew Orleans Saints All-Pro quarterback Drew Brees, Arizona Cardinals All-Pro wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins and San Francisco 49ers All-Pro tight end George Kittle.


National Hockey League (NHL) - NHL Legend Wayne Gretzky, Chicago Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews and assistant development manager for Toronto player Maple Leafs and former Canadian ice hockey gold medalist Hayley Wickenhei.


National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) - United States Women's National Soccer Team forward and Sky Blue FC forward forward Carli Lloyd and United States Women's National Soccer Team forward and Orlando Pride striker Alex Morgan.


United States Golf Association (USGA) - Jordan Spieth, three-time USGA champion (2015 U.S. Open and 2 U.S. Junior Amateurs), and Lydia Ko, winner of the 2012 U.S. Women’s Amateur and Youngest Number 1 of All Time.


Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) - Four-time WNBA All-Star base Skylar Diggins-Smith of the Phoenix Mercury and two-time WNBA All-Star 2018 and forward of the WNBA 2018 MVP Breanna Stewart of the Seattle Storm (#WNBATogether ).


World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) - Superstars John Cena, Triple H and Charlotte Flair.